“YOU HAD THE POWER ALL ALONG” Glinda the Good Witch

One of my favorite movies is The Wizard of Oz.

When Dorothy first landed on the witch she received the ruby slippers. But it wasn’t until the end that she realized she had the power to return home all along.

Maybe Dorothy could have avoided the whole yellow brick road thing. She could have bypassed meeting the Scarecrow, Tin Man, Lion and Wizard and the whole trip to recover the broomstick. I mean she had the power to go home all along, right?

I fully believe that this story represents just that – a journey. I think that Dorothy also had to make a journey before coming to the knowledge, acceptance and belief that she truly held the power all along before she could truly use it.

Isn’t that sort of the way it is with all of us? We are born with the power to accomplish anything we want but somehow it’s hidden from us. But our power is there with us all along, just like the ruby slippers. Your power is always there if only you will risk making the journey to find it.

I also believe that meeting the Scarecrow, Tin Man and the rest enhanced Dorothy’s life and changed who she was – on the inside. Just like my fellow close friends, writer friends and even Face Book friends change the way I see things in me every day and push me to discover my own strength.

Have you found the amazing hidden power present in your own life? It is there. Hang up the

ruby slippers-you don’t need ’em.

2 thoughts on ““YOU HAD THE POWER ALL ALONG” Glinda the Good Witch

  1. One of my favorite movies, Kate! Great analogy!! I’m still working on finding my own power, but I still wouldn’t mind owning a pair of the ruby slippers (the ones from the movie).

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

The Blabbermouth Blog

Literary Agent Linda Epstein's Yakkety Yakking

Tim Weed

Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Book Train

This is My Page for Updates and News. Please Share Your Book Train Stories Below....

