Baby steps

I’m finding it genuinely difficult to stay motivated to write these days. But a friend told me about May Days. I looked at this writing activity as ‘baby steps’. I thought I’d give it a whirl. Where do our thoughts come from when we write? I think it comes from the heart. It comes from a state of being. I missed mom today. I missed her a lot. I felt sad and out of options. But I realized from the depths of an emotion that weighs so heavy on my heart that I have to look at where I came from. My parents were both artists, one was a photographer, the other a writer and together they made books. As a kid, I’d sit and watch my mom type on the typewriter and thought that’s what I want to be, a writer. I’ve been a writer for as long as I can remember. I wrote poems and short stories and always kept a journal. In college I majored in English (duh) and wrote for the school paper. I couldn’t get enough of Yeats, Emily Dickinson & Kurt Vonnegut. Then the magical phase in life came when I met my wonderful husband and raised three beautiful boys who have given me so much joy and became my spark of inspiration to write picture books and more. I adore the written word. Writing frees my soul. Let us never stop creating. My mom, my mentor, my friend is gone. I no longer get those phone calls to ask me if my butt is in the chair. I’d tell her, “It would be if I wasn’t on the phone..” I’d tell her. She always told me, “Never forget your roots. Never forget where you came from.” I believe she said this so I will always find my way back. That my roots are literary roots that I will never loose. I just have to sit with my butt in chair, let my fingers find the letters to the words that my heart speaks and be a writer. Fifteen minutes a day to start. I can do that. Thanks Nancy Tupper Ling for getting me going. There’s no stopping me now!

4 thoughts on “Baby steps

    • Jacqui-I have been ‘doing my homework’ lately, working on character Development for now and moving onto Plot revision. Blogging hasn’t been a priority lately.

      Kate

      Sent from my iPhone

      • I have found that the best tip in character development is spending time with them-getting to know them Like a real person. I put together a Character development sheet that I now use that’s very thorough and Helped me a lot. I’ll try and post it later on my blog-thanks for asking. Best of Luck with your revision.

        Kate

        Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

The Blabbermouth Blog

Literary Agent Linda Epstein's Yakkety Yakking

Tim Weed

Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Book Train

This is My Page for Updates and News. Please Share Your Book Train Stories Below....

