When the Writing Planets Align

Go for it! 

I’m back to finishing my novel after spending the last half of NaNoWriMo in a writing funk. I don’t know why-I’m learning not to question. I leave those answers up to the universe. During the past two weeks I questioned many times if writing is really what I want to do as I flipped through job listings on Careerbuilder and realized those are just ‘jobs’ and not my dreams.

I sat at my desk, but nothing came. I went for a walk in the frigid cold, came home to a hot cup of coffee and sat at my desk-still nothing. So I figured this was the universe’s way of telling me this is my time to recharge, get some Christmas shopping done, read, get some sleep. But my fear of not finishing my writing project was putting me into more of a writing coma-until I realized I needed time to just Be.  

 It took me these last two weeks to realize that not writing for awhile was part of the process. I learned patience. We are too eager for our writing project to be complete and we all too often compare ourselves to others who have the same goal, but we are not on the same path.

As the planets align, magic happens. Last night I picked up Julia Cameron’s book from my nightstand where yes, it had been collecting dust, The Right to Write. I opened the book to page 130.

The title of the chapter was ‘Making It.’ In this chapter she talks about if you are willing to do the work for a writing career, the odds work with you, not against you. She shares a quote from Goethe: Whatever you think you can do or believe you can do, begin it-for action has magic grace and power in it.” I so believe this. She follows up this idea of odds with a quote from mountain climber William Hutchinson Murray: “Concerning all acts of initiative or creation, there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too.” 

Once those planets align, whether or not we concisely, or subconsciously commit after taking needed rest for our creativity-somehow we are once again committed to our writing. We don’t ask any questions. As Julia says, “the universe follows the direction pointed by our commitment.”

Peace

Here are a few articles by a few of my favorite writers that helped me through these last few weeks:

http://www.bookish.com/articles/nanowrimo-writers-block-inspiration-from-laurie-halse-anderson

http://www.katemessner.com/what-happened-to-your-book-today/

http://www.elizabethgilbert.com/question-of-the-day-why-is-writing-so-damn-exhausting-a-friend-of-this-page/

2 thoughts on “When the Writing Planets Align

Leave a Reply

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

The Blabbermouth Blog

Literary Agent Linda Epstein's Yakkety Yakking

Tim Weed

Writer

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Book Train

This is My Page for Updates and News. Please Share Your Book Train Stories Below....

